Lessons Learned

Along with the exploration of tools this week, it brought to light the importance of clarity when working in virtual teams.  I created a few take-aways from my experience this week that I want to be mindful if I ever create a virtual team project.  Many decades a ago, when I was student teaching, my mentor told me to create a list.  She said observe the good and the bad of the situation.  Then focus each observation into a positive outcome. I used that approach this week to capture some ideas I want to remember.

  • Be mindful of the time of others.  As an instructor, I want to allow ample time for the completion of a project given the constraints on time of adult learners as they balance work, school, family, volunteer, and other matters.  Many take online courses so that they can work when it is convenient for them during the week and on their schedule.
  • Provide clarity in expectations.   First, as an instructor, I want to be sure my assignment verbiage and timeline is clearly understood.  Also, I want to emphasize to my learners to be clear on what is expected from each person in the group.
  • Stress the Importance of Agreed Upon Team Timeline– This is critical to group success.  Everyone must know the deadlines and be able to meet them. As an instructor, I want to help teams by creating some clear boundaries on this expectation.
  • Allow Teams Time to Connect-    As an instructor, I want to remember the importance of allowing connections to be made so teamwork is stronger and project completion easier.  It is important to have trust within a team and this needs some time to develop.
  • Celebrate successes- As an instructor, I want to celebrate the completion of team projects because it takes a lot of adapting of schedules and commitment for learners to work successfully together.  I want to also encourage the learners to thank and celebrate their successes with each other.

One Response

  1. Tina, what a great idea to create a list of the good and bad of a situation. It says something that you are still using it today. I think it helps in the reflection process, which is a huge part of learning. You, along with your group, should be celebrating as you stated. What a successful toolkit all of you have created. Nice work. Michelle

Leave a comment

Assessment in E-learning

A great WordPress.com site

Exploring Assessment

A Reflective Journal for UW Stout Course Assessment in eLearning